Skip to content

Pointing Breed Trial Winners

2023 Westminster Trophy winners

The AKC Pointing Breed Gun Dog Championships are the largest championship field events open to all pointing breeds in the country. There are two divisions to the competition as handlers are either on Horseback or Walking. This year the championship was held in Raymond, NE.  FC McDermitt's Thor “Thor" a Pointer, with handler Diane Vater, was the winner of the Horseback division and the Westminster Kennel Club Cup trophyHunt'em Ups Leave No Doubt "Murphey" a German Shorthaired Pointer, handled by Tim Owens was the winner of the Walking competition and The Westminster Trophy.


AKC Pointing Breed (Horseback) Gun Dog Champion

2023FC McDermitt's Thor "Thor"PointerArt McDermittDiane Vater
2022DC Kinwashkly King Louie "Louie"BrittanyDiane VaterDiane Vater
2021NAFC AFC Southwind's Citori Red Lightning "Tori"VizslaSean Van KootenJessica/Jon Hann
2020FC AFC DCR's Mojo Justice "Rere"German Shorthaired PointerGina BosioGina Bosio
2019WFK Little Patch of Trouble "Patch"German Shorthaired PointerSusan HeadDave Walker
2018FC/AFC Riden High Rudy "Rudy"German Shorthaired PointerRay NelsonG.W. Batson
2017NGDC FC AFC Flapjack’s Twisted Sister "Nova"German Shorthaired PointerClay A. BentonJon Hann


AKC Pointing Breed (Walking) Gun Dog Champion

2023Hunt'em Ups Leave No Doubt "Murphey"German Shorthaired PointerTim & Brantley OwensTim Owens
2022FC AFC West Wind's Blue Image "Blaze"German Shorthaired PointerLance FargoLance Fargo
2021NWGDC GFC FC AFC VK's Twenty Gauge Gunnar "Gunnar"VizslaRobyn and Sherwin Van KootenSherwin Van Kooten
2020Maybellene "Pat"English SetterTom GiffinTom Griffin
2019DC AFC Odyssey’s Perfect Traveler "Charlie"German Shorthaired PointerChuck & Judy Parietti Chuck Parietti

Learn more about the AKC Pointing Breed Gun Dog Championships here